OWL ALERT May 22, 2021

 Rental Subsidies for Low Income Seniors and People with Disabilities are vital to Keeping Seniors Housed and Safe

SITUATION A majority of senior renters and people with disabilities in S.F. have incomes too low to qualify for “affordable” housing and need rental subsidies to afford even these programs.   There are 2 types of rental subsidies:

1) Portable Rental Subsidies provide assistance with rent payments that stay with the tenant if they need to move.

2)  Senior Operating Subsidies (SOS): Subsidies stay with the rental unit as “deeply affordable” set asides for very low-income seniors.  Funds for SOS program presently available for 5 years only starting in 2019.

Both of these programs have been successful and must be expanded!

ACTION:  

1) Phone and/or email Mayor London Breed and ask her to fund $3 million for portable rental subsidies and $3M for Senior Operating Subsidies in the Fiscal Year 2021-22 budget.

 

CONTACT: PLEASE CALL ASAP BECAUSE THE MAYOR ANNOUNCES HER BUDGET ON JUNE 1!!!

Mayor London Breed, Phone: (415) 554-6141

E-mail: mayorlondonbreed@sfgov.org

OWL Alert May 12, 2021

BAN UN-IDENTIFIABLE, SELF-ASSEMBLED GUNS IN SAN FRANCISCO!

 SITUATION: “Ghost Guns” are becoming increasingly popular in the Bay Area because they can be bought legally without a background check and shipped to any location.  44% of guns recovered from San Francisco homicides are ghost guns. They are a public safety threat as mounting numbers are being found in the aftermath of gang violence, burglaries and neighborhood shootings.

ACTION:   New legislation, proposed by Supervisor Catherine Stefani, completely bans the possession and sale of ghost guns and their untraceable components. 

Call and email your supervisor and tell him or her to make our communities safer and stop the surge of shootings across our city by supporting this “Ghost Gun” legislation.

Contacts for Supervisors:

Connie Chan, Dist. 1, 415-554-7410, ChanStaff@sfgov.org

Catherine Stefani, Dist. 2, 415-554-7752, Catherine.Stefani@sfgov.org

Aaron Peskin, Dist. 3, 415-554-7450, Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org

Gordon Mar, Dist. 4, 415-554-7460, Gordon.Mar@sfgov.org

Dean Preston, Dist. 5, 415-554-7630, Dean.Preston@sfgov.org

Matt Haney, Dist. 6, 415-554-7970, Matt.Haney@sfgov.org

Myrna Melgar, Dist. 7, (415) 554-6516, MelgarStaff@sfgov.org

Rafael Mandelman, Dist. 8, 415-554-6968, MandelmanStaff@sfgov.org

Hillary Ronen, Dist. 9, 415-554-5144, Hillary.Ronen@sfgov.org

Shamann Walton, Dist. 10, 415-554-7670, Shamman.Walton@sfgov.org

Ashsa Safai, Dist. 11, 415-554-6975, Ahsha.Safai@sfgov.org